Bison bike ride

Andy and I took a 15 mile ride on rolling roads around the patch yesterday. I could begin to love summer again with temps below 80.

Look who we came across…

In the foreground is a 4" wire fence with a sign posted to the right. Blue letters state that there is no shooting of the animals is allowed. Coming into view, and out of focus, is a large brown bufallo, with a baby following behind her.

Momma stomped out of the woods to greet me at the fence.

A close up shot of the nose of a buffalo against a 4" wire fence.

FEED ME!

I pulled shocks of long grasses and wild flowers and offered them through the fence. She raked them away with her thick, rough tongue. I imagined steam puffing out of her nose; she breathed so heavily Andy could hear her from twenty feet away.

A close up shot of the side of the buffalo's face--the eye has a fly near the tear duct, the horn is sticking up at the center of the frame, and you can see the wiry hair around the ear.

…but do not touch!

I reached in to feel the wiry mat of fur on her forehead. I did not think a creature so big could move so quickly; I scraped the back of my hand against the wire fence in retreat as she reared her head in protest. She rammed against the fence, which bowed but held, her horns thrusting through a warning.

A large brown buffalo stands looking through a wire fence.

Standing ground.

The momma buffalo kept her body between me and the baby. Before long, she grew bored and shuffled the youngster off to join another adult and juvenile buffalo that had kept their distance.

As Andy and I turned the last corner to climb home we heard a high pitched scream and a drone above us. Looking up we saw a young eagle rising into the sun, pursued by a small airplane. I was glad to see the plane eventually veer away from the powerful bird of prey.

Who do you see on your bike rides?

Categories: wildlife | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Bison bike ride

  1. Debbie Bacal

    Wow!

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

